Welcome to our community

Be a part of something great, join today!

Question about Sets and Functions

LeibnizIsBetter

MHB Donor
Aug 28, 2013
I know this is probably the most basic question imaginable so please bear with me. I did google it but I still couldn't figure it out.

Say you have a function \(\displaystyle f(x, y, z)\) and a point \(\displaystyle (x_0, y_0, z_0)\) that satisfies the equation \(\displaystyle f(x, y, z) = 0\).

Does that imply that \(\displaystyle f(x_0, y_0, z_0) \in f(x, y, z)\) ? Where \(\displaystyle \in\) means "is an element of".

Or, what's the relationship between \(\displaystyle (x_0, y_0, z_0)\) and \(\displaystyle f(x, y, z)\) if \(\displaystyle (x_0, y_0, z_0)\) is a point on the surface defined by \(\displaystyle f(x, y, z) = 0\)?

Thanks so much. I'm new to this and didn't drink enough coffee today.

Last edited:

Klaas van Aarsen

MHB Seeker
Staff member
Mar 5, 2012
Hi LeibnizIsBetter!

I know this is probably the most basic question imaginable so please bear with me. I did google it but I still couldn't figure it out.

Say you have a function \(\displaystyle f(x, y, z) = 0\) and a point \(\displaystyle (x_0, y_0, z_0)\) that satisfies the equation \(\displaystyle f(x, y, z) = 0\).
Formally, f(x,y,z) is not a function. It's an output of a function for some input (x,y,z).
The function itself is simply called "f".

To write it properly, we can say:

Let f be a function $\mathbb R^3 \to \mathbb R$ and let $(x_0, y_0, z_0)$ be a point such that $f(x_0, y_0, z_0) = 0$.

Does that imply that \(\displaystyle f(x_0, y_0, z_0) \in f(x, y, z)\) ? Where \(\displaystyle \in\) means "is an element of".

Or is there a better way of stating what I'm trying to say?

Thanks so much. I'm new to this and didn't drink enough coffee today.
Since $f(x,y,z)$ is not a set but an output value, it does not have elements.

I think you mean to say that $f(x_0, y_0, z_0) \in \text{codomain of }f$.