Question about entropy, particles

In summary, atoms do not experience entropy in the same way that macroscopic objects do. When a quantum object is observed, its position or momentum may become more well-defined, but there are no other fundamental changes. The idea of wave-particle duality is outdated and should not be a concern when discussing quantum reality.
Oriononthehorizon
Hello, I am a curious layman, so I might have some misconceptions. I have been pondering some questions, and I was hoping someone might be able to either confirm, or explain this. What I am wondering, if I am understanding this correctly, is why atoms do not experience entropy? If this is true, why? The next thing I was wondering, is about the effect of observation on a particle. Is the particle and wave coexisting in two different dimensions as a wave and a particle, then when observed,is the particle and wave "switching" with each other? Regardless of the answer to the last question, is there an energetic change happening during the collapsing of the wave function happening upon observation? I thank you very much in advance for your time and thought.

Science news on Phys.org
Entropy is a concept that is related to the statistical behavior of a very large number of atoms or molecules. Much like saying that the "average value of a given set of 1000 numbers is 25.714" doesn't really tell anything about any single number in that set, the concept of entropy is not useful when explaining the behavior of a single atom or molecule.

Quantum objects don't fundamentally change in nature when they are observed. When a position measurement is made for a particle, the standard deviation of the position probability distribution of the particle typically becomes much smaller than it was before the measurement, but it's still same kind of a quantum object.