Quasi-Distribution for Non-Physicists

• I
  • Thread starter consuli
  • Start date
In summary, the conversation revolves around the topic of quasi-distribution and its relationship to statistics and physics. The individual is seeking an intuitive and non-physical explanation of this concept, and references the Wigner Transform and Quasi-likelihood as related topics. The conversation also touches on the distinction between quasi-likelihood and quasiprobability distribution.
consuli
Hello!

I am a statistician interested in physics.

In the glm procedure in the software R, one can choose, quasi-distribution. I have always wondered what that might be.

Could you introduce the statistical nature of quasi-distribution to me, ideally without mentioning any physics terms like Schrödinger-equation and so on.

Quasi-distribution has a proper statistical defintion, doesn't it? So for the first: The density of quasi-distribution references the probability of what?

Consuli

Physics news on Phys.org
Well, I am looking for a more intuitive and especially less physical but more statistical introduction to this topic.

I am trying"The Wigner Transform", De Gosson, Maurice A, 2017 now. I guess, this isn't easier, but at least more detailed.

Consuli

consuli said:
In the glm procedure in the software R, one can choose, quasi-distribution. I have always wondered what that might be.
The R documentation I see online uses the term "quasilikelihood", not "quasidistribution". https://www.rdocumentation.org/packages/stats/versions/3.4.3/topics/glm

A "Quasi-likelihood" may be an entirely different thing than a quasiprobability distribution. (The current Wikipedia treats them in different articles.)

Attempting to develop an intuition about either concept would be an interesting project.

Stephen Tashi said: