Quantum physics in engineering

In summary: There are certainly applications in other areas, but they're not as central.I don't really see quantum mechanics playing much of a role in civil engineering. It will show up in materials engineering, and then I suppose civil engineers use the materials that materials engineers designed. There are certainly applications in other areas, but they're not as central.
MNEG
Hi, I am studying civil engineerin. I wonder if learning quantum physicist could be worth it for my career. I know that as an engineer I can get a master degree in physics, which have a lot of topics of modern physics. Do you think it could be a good idea? I mean, these new knoeledge is helpful to do research in this field of engineering or is more for academic purposes, to work as a professor.

Please let me know from your own expirience.

Physics news on Phys.org
I doubt quantum mechanics is useful in most aspects of civil engineering.

Vanadium 50 said:
Tunneling maybe? :smile:

sheaf said:
Tunneling maybe? :smile:
Wold you
Vanadium 50 said:
would do you tell me a little more?

What more is there to say? Is coin collecting useful to civil engineering? Is tap dancing? I don't see how there is much to say except "not really, no".

Vanadium 50 said:
What more is there to say? Is coin collecting useful to civil engineering? Is tap dancing? I don't see how there is much to say except "not really, no".
That's the kind of answer i needed, may be tough, but honest. Could you tell me what advanced courses are helpuf for applying engineering.

Why is this tough? And the most useful advanced courses helpful to a civil engineer are usually some kind of engineering. Hard to be more specific, as civil engineering is a broad field.