Quantum mechanics for the nucleus?

In summary, the speaker is asking why there are no equivalent models for the atomic nucleus like there are for electrons in quantum mechanics. They have only seen descriptions for electrons and are wondering if the Schrodinger equation can be applied to protons. The response is that the nuclear potential is more complex and requires quantum field theory for an accurate description. It is also noted that the Schrodinger equation is not applicable to a particle like the proton, which has spin. The speaker is then advised to refer to a book on nuclear physics for more information.
DiracPool
How come I never see any equivelant of the particle in the box or harmonic oscillator counterparts for modeling of the atomic nucleus? I'm still a bit new to QM, but the only thing I ever see are QM descriptions of electrons, electron orbitals, electron spins, electron quantum entanglement, electron double slit, etc. Nothing ever for protons, gluons, etc., except for the nuclear shell model maybe, but nothing in-depth even on that. Can you even apply the Shrodinger equation to a proton? I've never seen it. Any references would be great.

Physics news on Phys.org
You can do this, but the nuclear potential is not as easy as the coulomb potential, and you do not get analytic solutions for the eigenstates.
It is even worse if you look inside the proton, with the strong interaction and its self-interaction you need quantum field theory for an appropriate description.

Can you even apply the Shrodinger equation to a proton?
it will be better to use dirac eqn since proton is spin 1/2 but it only applies to structurelss particle like electron so it will not give useful results.

Can you even apply the Shrodinger equation to a proton? I've never seen it. Any references would be great.
Believe me, any book on nuclear physics will provide an answer to your question, in great detail.

Related to Quantum mechanics for the nucleus?