Quantum Mechanics: Complex Wavefunctions Explained

In summary, while real-valued wavefunctions may be sufficient for certain problems, there are a few drawbacks to using them in quantum mechanics, including discontinuities in the wavefunction and the inability to represent quantum interference phenomena.
Maharshi Roy
Why do wavefunctions in quantum mechanics need to be complex? What are the drawbacks of using real valued wavefunctions like: Asin(kx+ωt+ø) etc...or a standing wave equation: Asin(kx)cos(ωt)?
I'm an undergraduate student and recently passed 12th grade...So any answer of my level would be appreciated...

Physics news on Phys.org
Its give anther dimension to play

You can use them but then A ends up being complex.

Maharshi Roy said:
Why do wavefunctions in quantum mechanics need to be complex? What are the drawbacks of using real valued wavefunctions like: Asin(kx+ωt+ø) etc...or a standing wave equation: Asin(kx)cos(ωt)?
I'm an undergraduate student and recently passed 12th grade...So any answer of my level would be appreciated...

This issue has been discussed several times here. See my take at https://www.physicsforums.com/showpost.php?p=3799168&postcount=9

Maharshi Roy said:
The heavy jungle of mathematics confuses me...Please give me a qualitative idea...

At least in some important cases, you can describe the matter field (say, electrons) with one real function. A gauge transform (you can google it, if you don't know what it is) is required for that, but, e.g., in the case of the Dirac equation, some additional tricks are needed.

Maharshi Roy said:
Why do wavefunctions in quantum mechanics need to be complex?