Quantum levitation and quantum locking applications

In summary, the conversation discussed quantum locking and levitation, specifically in relation to a TED talk about using superconductors to float objects on a magnetic track. There were questions about the stability and potential for this technology, as well as concerns about the safety of handling superconductors at extremely low temperatures. There was also a question about the possibility of levitating a superconductor using Earth's magnetic field.
Moogroo
Hello Everyone,

I'm brand new to the forum as a poster, although I have been quietly reading the very interesting discussions going on here for a while! I'm hoping to slowly emerge from the shadows and start posting myself. Whilst I am by no means an expert in Physics, I do love the subject and try to learn as much as I can on my own.

(I appologize if this is not the correct place to post this thread!)

I was recently watching a talk on TED.com about quantum locking and quantum levitation (video here: http://www.ted.com/talks/boaz_almog_levitates_a_superconductor.html ).

The talk demonstrates quantum locking and quantum levitation, by floating a superconductor disk (0.5 microns thick and ~7.6cm in diameter) on top of a magnetic track.

Despite the fact that the science represented was clearly not the latest, it is however supposed to inform a lot of people about the potential for this technology.

There are a few things in the video that have been bugging me for the last couple of days. The speaker states that a 2mm thick and ~7.6cm diameter disk can support 1000kg (the weight of a small car). However in his demonstration he is able to change the orientation and direction of the disk very easily with his hand. If this is how easy it is to disturb the system, I can't help think that any amount of weight placed on the disk, whether its my toe, or a small car would send it toppling downward. We can't change Newton's Third Law after all.