Quantum cryptography and uncertainty relations

In summary, quantum cryptography uses polarisation as a form of encryption, taking advantage of the Heisenberg uncertainty principle. Specifically, the uncertainty relation is attached to two properties of photons, which are represented by matrices corresponding to measuring different polarisation schemes. These matrices have the same form as the Pauli matrices and do not commute, leading to the uncertainty relation. This method is commonly used due to its ease of measurement and preservation by optical fibres.
Rich19
Almost all the explanations of quantum cryptography I've come across simply say that the encryption is "protected by the Heisenberg uncertainty principle". I'm having a little difficulty getting any more detail than that without getting way out of my depth (I'm only an A-level student!). Does anyone know precisely which two properties of photons have the uncertainty relation for polarisation? I'm not sure if it's the horizontal/vertical components of polarization, the rectilinear/diagonal schemes of polarization, or something else entirely like spin...

(Apologies if this thread is in the wrong forum. It's for a research project I'm doing for coursework, but I thought the thread would fit better here than in the homework forum.)

Physics news on Phys.org
Generally you use polarisation, it's easy to measure and is preserved by optical fibres.
The wiki article is a reasonably simple explanation.

Yes, you can use horizontal/vertical (H/V) vs diagonal/anti-diagonal polarizations (H\pm V), or H/V vs right-hand and left-hand circular polarization. You use what are called "mutually unbiased bases" for photon polarization.