Quantum Computation and Quantum Information

In summary, the conversation discusses the relationship between qubits and the points on the unit sphere in R(3) known as the Bloch sphere. It explains that any qubit can be expressed as a normalized state vector with coefficients a and b, which can be written in terms of real numbers and a phase factor. It then shows that there is a one to one correspondence between qubits and points on the Bloch sphere. The conversation also addresses a question about the relationship between the radius and angle in the expression of the state vector.
G.F.Again
Hey all, I'm a beginner of the Quantum Computation and Quantum Information. For a long time, I feel very confuse about the question bellow. Could you do me a favor and show me the proof? Many thanks!
Question:
Show that any qubit can be expressed as
psi=exp(iγ)[cos(θ/2)0+exp(iΦ)sin(θ/2)1]
for real numbers γ,θ and Φ. The phase factor exp(iγ) has no observational effect and can be dropped.
And then show that there is a one to one correspondence between qubits
psi=cos(θ/2)0+exp(iΦ)sin(θ/2)1
and the points on the unit sphere in R(3) called the Bloch sphere, with and as the spherical coordinates of a point of the sphere.

Physics news on Phys.org