QED: Electron/Positron Scattering & Bosonic Propagators

In summary, the perturbation theory for the electron/positron scattering is that the propagator is: T=<f|H|i>+\sum<f|H|n>\frac{1}{E_i-E_n}<n|H|i>+... where f is the final state and i the initial state, and there is just one intermediate state |n>. The final formula for T is obtained by considering two different diagrams.
eoghan
Hi!
I'm studying an introduction to QED and I don't understand the bosonic propagators.
Consider the electron/positron scattering with the exchange of a virtual photon. According to perturbation theory, the propagator is:
[tex]T=<f|H|i>+\sum<f|H|n>\frac{1}{E_i-E_n}<n|H|i>+...[/tex]
where f is the final state and i the initial state.
Now, I guess both the final and the initial states are the states of an electron and a positron, but with different momenta.
Moreover there is just one intermediate state |n> which is the state of the virtual photon.
Now, looking at the final formula for T and doing a sort of back-engineering I guess that the perturbation term H is [tex]e[/tex], so the first term in the approximation becomes
[tex]e<f|i>[/tex]
and the second term gives:
[tex]\frac{e^2}{E_i-E_{\gamma}}<f|i><i|f>[/tex]
Again, looking at the final formula I see that <i|f>=1 so that the second term becomes:
[tex]\frac{e^2}{E_i-E_{\gamma}}[/tex]

Now, my questions are:
1) the first term in the approximation vanishes in the final formula so <i|f>=0. But then also the second term vanishes! So, what is <f|i>?

2)Why the perturbation hamiltonian is constant and equal to the charge of the electron?

P.s. the final formula of the propagator is obtained by considering two different diagrams. Here I considered only one of them.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
You seem to be missing a lot of background. Rather than backtrack from the answer to try to guess at how to solve the problem, you should go back and figure out the very basics again.

eoghan said:
Hi!