QCD Coulomb Singularity: Quarkonium w/ 2 Gluons

In summary, the conversation discusses the Coulomb singularity in QCD, which appears when a virtual gluon is exchanged between a quark pair in a meson. It is generated when the relative velocity of the quarks approaches zero, and the expression for this singularity is ~ 1/v. This phenomenon is not present in QED. The discussion also mentions NRQCD as a relevant model and provides a reference for further reading.
mariamskhan
Hi all,
I am just new to work on NLO in QCD. I need to know how a Coulomb singularity in QCD is defined? What is the form/expression of this singularity term? Can anyone explain with an example of any Feynman diagram? I am interested in the case of a quarkonium with two gluons in final state. I'll be really grateful for the help.

Physics news on Phys.org
Can you explain what you mean by Coulomb singularity in QED?

Coulomb singularity appears whenever a virtual gluon is exchanged between quark pair of a meson. The limit that relative velocity of these two quarks tends to zero (to make a bound state for meson) in an expression ~ 1/v (v being realative velocity here) generates this singularity. This is what I know so far. I'm not sure where does this expression ~1/v come from? :cry: And with this information, I think we have Coulomb singularities only in QCD, but not in QED. :confused:
Can anybody please help or refer me to some good derivation of this? PLZZZZZZZZ

I do not know about which model you are talking. QCD, low-energy effective XYZ, non-relativistic quark model, ... I have never seen 1/v in full QCD.

Ooops, I really forgot to mention this. I'm talking about NRQCD.

mariamskhan said:
Ooops, I really forgot to mention this. I'm talking about NRQCD.
any references? on arxiv?

Related to QCD Coulomb Singularity: Quarkonium w/ 2 Gluons

1. What is the QCD Coulomb Singularity?