[Q] University Physics & Researching Asteroids

In summary, the speaker is a computer science student with an interest in asteroid impacts and deflection systems. They are seeking advice on how to prepare for a challenging physics course and how to begin researching asteroid deflection systems on their own. They have obtained a textbook and are studying calculus to build a strong foundation. They also mention a book recommendation on the topic of "New Earths" by Lewis.
vaironl
Hello all,

It's been a long time since I posted in this forum. I'm glad to be back to ask for advice from very talented individuals. Pardon me if my thread is not under the correct category. The following set of questions are related to my career, academic life, and satisfaction of self-learning, so I wasn't sure of what sub-forum it would fit.

I'm currently studying computer science to become a software engineer. What does this have to do with physics you say? Well I have both a huge fear and interest with the topic of asteroid impacts on Earth and wanted to explore the subject on how one could deflect asteroids which could become potential threats to Earth. Sadly I lack the background in physics and engineering I need to research this. Fortunately enough for me my degree requires me to take these type of science courses.

I'll be taking University Physics or as they call it Calculus Based Physics next semester and although I'm extremely excited to begin learning more about the topics that course will have to offer, I'm also a bit scared by the fact that many consider it to be a very challenging course. I have obtained the textbook and begun skimming certain sections from it. Could you folks provide advice on how I could establish a strong foundation for this course? Keep reading the book and try problems, etc.?