Putting non-Calculus Physics problems in Calculus form

In summary, the conversation centered around the idea of using calculus methods to solve problems that do not necessarily require them. The participants discussed the benefits of understanding both the calculus and non-calculus methods in physics and how to derive the latter from the former. They also mentioned the use of software, such as Microsoft Excel, to find functions that fit given data. The conversation ended with a question about how to turn information from a physics problem into a function.
zk3381
I'm a sophomore Physics major currently taking Mechanics, and I recently noticed something when I was going over some homework. I am really good at Calculus, and I noticed I tend to do way better on the calculus based problems (i.e. work, finding force from potential energy etc) than some of the problems that don't involve calculus. So that got me thinking, has anyone ever had the idea of taking information in problems that don't necessarily require calculus to solve them and putting them in some form where you can use calculus (which, for people like me, would make them much easier)? Anyway, I had this thought and wanted to know if anyone else thought of the same thing and what they did.

Physics news on Phys.org
Knowing both ways is helpful. I think knowing how the non-calculus methods are derived from the calculus methods are absolutely beneficial. In general knowing how the less complex methods are derived from the more complex methods is an incredibly valuable and necessary skill. It's one that can and should be learned.

I would say if you're more comfortable with the calculus form of what you're working with then derive how the non-calculus form comes from what you're used to. It will help you in the long run!