Pursuing Masters in Civil Engineering immediately after Bachelors?

In summary, basst82 recommends not pursuing a masters degree in civil engineering if you are already working. However, if you are not working and want to pursue a masters, he recommends doing research to get funded. Pyrrhus advises waiting until you have a full-time job and see what their tuition reimbursement policies are before committing to it on your own dime.
elementG
Hey guys, its been a while since I've been on this board and just wanted to ask for some advice/insight/recommendations. I'm currently a senior undergraduate getting my degree in Civil Engineering. Lately, I've really been considering graduate school due to two reasons:

1. ASCE in support of requiring BS+30 (masters degree) in 2015 as a prerequisite to the PE license exam. Correct me on that year if I'm wrong.
2. I know taking a break after graduation makes it much harder to get back to school (fall in love, get married, have kids, steady income :) etc.) I'll be 24 when I graduate.

However, we all know how expensive school is regardless of which university you attend. Do you guys think pursuing a masters degree in civil engineering is really worth the money in the end? I talked to several faculty about this and they recommend I do so since I'm still young and have the "energy", plus civil engineering requires technical focus in the real world since the undergraduate curriculum is quite broad. As much as I want to just be done with school, I feel like going straight to grad school will be an investment in the long run. But again, how much of an investment would that be? I have no idea, hence the post. Any advice, recommendations, insight, stories much appreciated! Thanks.

ps. Are there anyone year civil grad programs in CA that anyone may know of? I would love to find a program that is less than two years if possible.

Physics news on Phys.org
You may receive funding for your Master's if you are willing to do research.