Purifying water with electric fields

In summary: CBS News did a story on it a few years ago.In summary, the technology seems a little fishy to me, so I wanted to see if anyone could tell me whether or not the physics even makes sense. Basically the goal is to prevent CaCO3 from coming out of solution and depositing onto pipes. This is how is supposedly works:1. Water passes through an electric field.2. The electric field strips particles (doesn't say what they are exactly) of their static charge.3. CaCO3 precipitates onto the stripped particles instead of onto pipes.So they don't prevent the CaCO3 from precipitating, but they keep it flowing in the water.
murrdpirate0
I'm an HVAC engineer and my company has tasked me with researching a variety of water treatment products (for cooling towers). One of which is Dolphin Water Care (http://www.dolphinwatercare.com/Index.aspx)

The technology seems a little fishy to me, so I wanted to see if anyone could tell me whether or not the physics even makes sense. Basically the goal is to prevent CaCO3 from coming out of solution and depositing onto pipes. This is how is supposedly works:

1. Water passes through an electric field.
2. The electric field strips particles (doesn't say what they are exactly) of their static charge.
3. CaCO3 precipitates onto the stripped particles instead of onto pipes.

So they don't prevent the CaCO3 from precipitating, but they keep it flowing in the water. Eventually the water flows into a large vat. At that point, everything settles to the bottom and you can just clean it out.Can you even use an electric field to strip particles of their static charge? And even if you can, can you strip these "particles" of their static charge without stripping the CaCO3 of its static charge? I'm assuming they would just repel each other if they were both stripped of their static charge.

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org