Pulse Skipping - Calculating Frequency Limits

In summary, the LT3507 can be used to create a switching regulator circuit, but it requires a bit of know-how to get started. To determine Vin(ps), the user needs to know t_{ON(MIN)} and f_{SW}. For fmax1, the user needs to subs. the expression into:
saad87
I'm trying to design my first switching regulator circuit. I require three voltage rails, 5V, 3.3V and 1.8V. But to get started, I'm just focusing on 1.8V. I've decided to use the LT3507 as it seems to be commonly available here. It also has 3 buck regulator outputs, so it's a one-chip solution for me.

http://www.linear.com/docs/Datasheet/3507fa.pdf

However, as I'm new to this, I struggling a bit with calculating the upper frequency limits fmax1 and fmax2. Please see page 10 for the formulas used to derive fmax1 and fmax2. For them, I need to determine Vin(ps), Vout (=1.8V), Vf(=0.4V), Vsw(=0.3V) and I need to know ton(min) which is 130ns, as given in the datasheet.

OK, to determine Vin(ps) seems easy enough. I just need DC(min) which is

[itex]t_{ON(MIN)} \times f_{sw} = 130ns \times 450kHz = 0.0585[/itex]

I assume fsw is the switching frequency I'll work at. Let's take 450kHz as an example. If that's the case, then DC(min) is just 0.0585. The expression for Vin(ps) is:

[itex]\frac{V_{out} + Vf}{DC_{min}} - V_{f} + V_{SW} = \frac{1.8 + 0.4}{0.0585} - 0.4 + 0.3 = 37.506V[/itex]

If I understand Pulse-Skipping correctly, if I exceed the above voltage then pulse-skipping will kick into make sure the output voltage doesn't exceed 1.8V.

To compute fmax1, I subs. the above into:

[itex]\frac{V_{out} + V_{f}}{V_{IN(PS)} - V_{SW} + V_{F}} \times \frac{1}{t_{on(min)}}= \frac{1.8 + 0.4}{37.5 - 0.3 + 0.4} \times \frac{1}{130ns} = 450kHz[/itex]

No matter what I do, my fmax1 always computes to be equal to fsw that I chose above. Why is this? I've used Excel and I've done it on paper and I get the same result.