Proving parallel lines using points and vectors

In summary, the speaker is struggling with a math problem given by their professor and is not receiving much help from their TAs. They also mention that they find proofs difficult to understand and are unsure of how to approach this question. They then provide a link to the triangle proportionality theorem and explain how it can be used to solve the problem. Finally, they provide a step-by-step solution to the problem, showing how to use the theorem to prove that $AP \parallel CR$.
algebruh
Hey, this is a problem given to me by my prof for an assignment, and the TAs at my tutorials haven't been much help. Was wondering where to go with this question.

View attachment 9264

Also, I'm a uni freshman who isn't used to the whole concept of proofs, and a lot of what my profs say seem to be a slew of symbols and numbers before they even define anything, but I do the textbook readings and can comprehend those fairly easily. Was anyone on here's transition from high school math to university math a massive jump?

Attachments

• help.png
    help.png
    12.1 KB · Views: 85
Physics news on Phys.org
I'm going to assume you were exposed to the triangle proportionality theorem in a HS geometry course. To complete your proof, we require the use of its converse ... if you are not familiar or need a refresher, visit the attached link below.

https://sites.google.com/site/mrrosessite/geometry/geometry-objectives/-g-srt-similarity-right-triangles-and-trigonometry/srt4/converse-of-the-triangle-proportionality-theorem
For your problem, if we can show $\dfrac{OA}{AC} = \dfrac{OP}{PR}$, then by the converse of the triangle proportionality theorem $AP \parallel CR$.

Starting with $\Delta OCQ$, you are given $BP \parallel CQ$. Using the triangle proportionality theorem ...

$\dfrac{OB}{BC} = \dfrac{OP}{PQ} \implies \dfrac{OA+AB}{BC} = \dfrac{OP}{PQ} \implies \color{red}{(OA)(PQ)+(AB)(PQ)=(BC)(OP)}$

Same drill with $\Delta OBR$ ...