Proving Orthogonality by Induction in Second Quantization for Bosonic Systems

In summary, to prove that <n^\prime|n>=\delta_{n^\prime n} you need to use the commutation or anti-commutation relations for the creation and annihilation operators. You can do this by induction and by using the |\Omega \rangle=0 equation.
fuchini
Hello,

I'm currently studying second quantization. I need to prove [itex]<n^\prime| n>=\delta_{n^\prime n}[/itex] by mathematical induction in the number of particles representation. However I don't know how to do this proof having two natural numbers [itex]n[/itex] and [itex]n^\prime[/itex]. Must I prove it holds for [itex]<0|0>[/itex], [itex]<0|1>[/itex] and [itex]<1|1>[/itex]. Then assuming it holds true for [itex]<n^\prime|n>[/itex], prove it for [itex]<n^\prime|n+1>[/itex] and [itex]<n^\prime +1|n+1>[/itex]. Excuse me if this is an obvious question, please help me.

Thanks a lot.

Physics news on Phys.org
This seems to belong more to the homework section of this forum, but let me give some hints. In 2nd quantization you use creation and annihilation operators to build the many-particle Hilbert space in terms of the corresponding Fock space. For a single mode this space is spanned by your vectors [itex]|n \rangle[/itex]. By definition these states are normalized to 1 (suppose we work in a finite quantization volume with periodic boundary conditions leading to discrete momenta), i.e.,
[tex]\langle n | n \rangle=1.[/tex]
These states are built from the vacuum (ground) state, [itex]|\Omega[/itex] by successive application of creation operators,
[tex]|n \rangle=\frac{1}{\sqrt{n!}} (a^{\dagger})^{n} |\Omega \rangle.[/tex]
Now you can use the commutation or anti-commutation relations for the creation and annihilation operators to prove the orthonormality of the number states. To that end you have to express [itex]\langle n'|[/itex] with help of the above given forumula and then write down the corresponding expression