Proving Functions: The Relationship Between Onto and 1-to-1 Properties

• Thread starter SqrachMasda
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Proofs
In summary: If f itself is 1-to-1 then f^-1 is a function.no, that is not true. only if f is a bijection (one to one and onto) is there an inverse function.
SqrachMasda
everything i have to prove seems impossible
then i see it done and it seems so easy
any help on starting a proof,...anybody ever have this problem
i am new to this stuff, but my problem is I don't know what i need to show and what is legal to use
so this is my current problem, I'm sure it's extremely easy for all you math geniuses so spare me the arrogance

If f itself is 1-to-1 then f^-1 is a function.
Let f:G->H be an onto function
prove
(i) If V is contained in H then f(f^-1(V))=V

i'm pretty sure i understand onto and 1-1 definition
i also understand why it's true, i think
i also can somewhat understand the homomorphism stuff of it

i just don't know where to start, what to do, what it really is asking

then i got to prove this, but have not looked into it because I'm still on (i)
(ii) If W is contained in G then W is contained in f^-1(f(W)) and this could be a strict containment

abstract algebra seems to be an endless barrier in my math knowledge
is the key to it, memorizing endless amounts of definitions??
seriously

Physics news on Phys.org
1) Write down the definitions. (that's how you start!)

i did, i wrote evrerything down i knew
but I'm not sure how to apply it i guess, (that's how i started!)

anatomy of a proof

As you see more and more proofs, you'll start to see that there is a finite number of tehcniques one uses to prove things.

But almost all of them begin by writing down the definitions.

prove

Start with the definition of an onto function from G to H.

Follow with the definition of f^-1(V).

Then with the definition of f(A) where A in a subset of G.

Then replace A by f^-1(V).