Uneven expansion of the universe?

In summary, there is evidence to suggest that the expansion of the universe is not uniform. Cosmologists often use a simplified model called the Friedmann equations which assume uniform distribution of material and energy. However, there are local variations in expansion rates, such as around clusters of galaxies, that are not considered in this model. Dark energy, which contributes to both the slowing and acceleration of expansion, is often assumed to have a negative pressure.
Bob3141592
I'm a computer programmer, not an astronomer or physicist, so forgive me if my question has been addressed before.

Is there any data or firm science to indicate that the expansion of the universe is uniform? Could different regions of space be expanding at slightly different rates. Granted, I don't know what might cause such irregularities, but I don't know what cuases the expansion either. I'm not comfortable with the ideas behind dark energy and everything, and cosmology has seemed to get a lot slipperier of late. But most of the stuff I've read on this topic seems to imply that the expansion of the universe is the same everywhere, and I was wondering if there's justification for this assumption.

Astronomy news on Phys.org
Bob I think you are right to suspect that the expansion is not uniform
I think any cosmologist would agree that it is only approximately uniform

basically they use the 1915 Einstein equation
(which does not predict that expansion should be uniform
but rather that it should depend on local conditions like
the density of material in the region)

but they also used a simplified model called the Friedmann equations
which were derived circa 1920 from the more complicated Einstein
eqn. The friedmann equations assume that material and energy is
uniformly distributed and so the expansion rate you get out of them
is a uniform expansion.

when cosmologists talk about things they often are referring to the