Projectile Range and Height

In summary, the launch angle of the projectile can be found using energy conservation by setting the initial kinetic energy equal to the sum of the final kinetic and potential energies. Simplifying the equation yields a launch angle of 69 degrees.
hawkeye1029

Homework Statement

At 0.5 of its maximum height, the speed of a projectile is 0.75 of its initial speed. What was its launch angle?

Homework Equations

Not sure here, but:
v^2 - vo^2 = 2as [maximum height]
Ay = Asin(theta) [y-component]

The Attempt at a Solution

I didn't get very far, but:
vo = vo
v = 0.75 vo

0.75vo^2 - vo^2 = (2)(-9.8)s
-0.25vo^2 = -19.6s
vo^2 = 784s

I'm stuck from here on, should I try to find the y-component for this?
[Also I'm an almost total beginner at Physics, excuse me if I'm totally wrong].

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks everyone!

Physics news on Phys.org
I thought about it a little more:

x-component : [v0^2/g]sin(theta)
y-component : vo sin(theta)

(theta) = tan^-1 [vo sin(theta)] / [vo^2/9.8 sin (theta)]
(theta) = tan^-1 (9.8/vo)

Is this headed in the right direction? If so, what would I substitute in for vo? If not, any tips?
Thanks!

Oh wait I think it would be best to use energy conservation.

0.5 mv^2 = 0.5m(0.75v)62 + 0.5mgh
and then
0.5 mv^2 = 0.5 m(v cos theta)^2 + 7/16(mv^2)
and simplify to get theta = 69 degrees

Is this correct?

hawkeye1029 said:
Oh wait I think it would be best to use energy conservation.

0.5 mv^2 = 0.5m(0.75v)62 + 0.5mgh
and then
0.5 mv^2 = 0.5 m(v cos theta)^2 + 7/16(mv^2)
and simplify to get theta = 69 degrees

Is this correct?

I got the same value for θ0 (but I don't really understand your way to find it). So I think the answer is correct, but the calculation is confusing.

1. What is projectile range and height?

Projectile range and height refer to the distance and height that an object travels when launched or thrown at an angle.

2. How is projectile range and height calculated?