Programming language to use to make plots from a database?

In summary, the person is a graduate student with no programming experience who wants to learn by creating a web application that can plot data from a database and conduct model calculations. They are seeking advice on the best programming language for this project and have received recommendations for Python from websites such as Code Academy and Udacity. They are also considering using API's from companies like Wolfram or Microsoft. They are enthusiastic about their project and are open to learning the necessary skills as they go.
Zerhyn
I am a graduate student who has basically no experience programming but I would like to learn so I decided to give myself a project. What I would like to do is build a web application that can plot data (2D & 3D) from a database. Once I get that far I would like to have the web application conduct model calculations. I would like users will be able to select the data they are interested in and then proceed to run a model.

What programming language would be best to proceed in this direction?

Thank you!

Technology news on Phys.org
OK. So what I have gathered so far is that I should develop the UI via HTML 5 (I would like this web app to be universal on almost nearly all platforms). Then outsource the data processes using API's to the likes of Wolfram or Microsoft's Azure.

I feel like I'm advocating this website a lot lately, but I'm very enthusiastic about it and I can't help but recommend it to anyone wanting to learn programming.

www.udacity.com

If you take CS101 you'll learn how to program in Python in (nominally) 7 weeks, although the course is not running per se, you'd take it in your own time (which could be a week). I'm currently taking CS253 which is web application programming in Python using the Google App Engine framework and a backend SQL database.

They won't teach you graphics, but you should probably learn the basics first.