Programming and Physics. How do I start?

In summary: Get into a project and start coding. Don't worry about what language it is in, or what tools are available. Just start coding and see what comes out. That is the best way to learn.
zsk786
I have been programming for quite awhile, but never extensively studied it. I took a AP Computer Science course that was taught in Java (Passed with a 5). I have known Java since 9th grade (4 years as of now). I learned Fortran 90 at Governors School for computational physics. I did a little C programming for a Best Robotics competition. And I have played around with python. I had a job doing so some basic Android Programming and iOS Programming.

So I know the basics of programming, but I am not well versed in any language. And my knowledge is basically in writing code. I am not very good at programming. I have not done anything different or worth notice.

I want to be a physicist. So I was wondering what tools should I use or what language I should focus on.

I contacted a professor in the college I will be going to in a few days and he said that I can join his research group. He told me to research Ising Models and start writing basic code to model ferrofluids (2-d mostly, 3-d if i can get to it).

I was thinking of either python or fortran, but not sure what version of the languages to go with. (Fortran 95? Python 3?)

So tools wise, I was wondering what compilers to use (especially if fortran is the option)

Also what text editor is considered to be the must have (I have been looking at notepad++)

I have a copy ITT's IDL, but have yet to use it.

Also I may need software to make graphical representation of my data (assumption)

and any other tools you guys can think of.

Thanks for any help you guys can give.

Last edited:
Technology news on Phys.org
zsk786 said: