Programmable LED board (Large)

• Thread starter TOONCES
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Board Led
In summary: There are a few ways you could do this. One would be to use a microcontroller to drive the matrix and have it output to an LCD or LED display. Another would be to use an Arduino board and an LCD or LED display. For the power, you will need to figure out how many LEDs you are using and how much power they are drawing.
TOONCES
Ok so I'm going to start this by saying I'm a mechanical engineer and circuits don't make very much sense to me. (So your help is very appreciated)

I'm currently designing a board game and I need to be able to program a large amount of led's.

Basically, I have 217 holes in a gameboard that need to be able to illuminate red, green, and blue (and potentially one other color). The board is about 15"x20". The holes are 0.6" in diameter. My main objective is to have multiple different patterns programmed into some type of CPU (i.e. arduino board). So, for example, I may want to have 3 random holes lit up blue, 2 lit up green, and 5 red. This would be one pattern and I need to have multiple. Each hole has to be able to display each color (217 holes).

Now, as I mentioned before, my circuit skills are horrendous.
I need to know a couple things:
-Is there a better way of implementing that many lights into my board?
If not,
-Can someone give me an example on how to connect all these leds together so that I am still able to connect them to a CPU?
-Btw, I really have no clue how to build a simple, single led circuit.
-Should I make a PCB to connect all these leds together?
-How much power am I going to need (or how do I figure out how much power I need) in order to power the leds and the CPU?

That's all I can think of right now as far as questions are concerned. I really appreciate any help.