Procedurally generated polynomial functions

In summary, procedurally generated polynomial functions are mathematical expressions that are created through algorithms or computer programs. They are used in various scientific fields to model and analyze complex systems, generate data for simulations, and solve problems with multiple variables. The advantages of using these functions include their flexibility and efficiency, but they are limited by the accuracy of the algorithms and may not fully capture the complexity of certain systems. While they can provide valuable insights, they cannot replace traditional mathematical models entirely and should be used in conjunction with other techniques.
JMS1
I'm a programmer looking for a way to create polynomial equations from a list of x intercepts and local maxima.

For the sake of discussion we can begin with a function of degree 4. The scale and position of the curve is unimportant so for simplicity's sake the curve can always have x intercepts at 1 and -1. That leaves the declaration of one local maximum to create a unique equation. If I want that maximum to be (0,0) then the equation takes the form (x-1)(x+1)(x)(x). Moving the maximum along the x-axis is simple. For maximum at (a,0) use the formula (x-1)(x+1)(x-a)(x-a) for any 'a' where 1>a>-1. Creating an equation where the local maximum is on the y-axis is also easy where a maximum at (0,-b) can be given by the equation (x-1)(x+1)(x-bi)(x+bi) for any b where 1>b>0

The problems arise when trying to use a maximum not on a zero axis. for example trying to create a local maximum at (0.2,-0.2) using the equation (x-1)(x+1)(x-.2-.2i)(x-.2+.2i) the local maximum is actually at (0.256,-0.190). Not exactly what I was looking for. So what would be a generalized formula which would give me a local maximum at (a,-b)?

Mathematics news on Phys.org