The Mentat Paradox: Is This Child Prodigy Really from Another Planet?

• Thread starter eNtRopY
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Paradox
In summary, there was confusion surrounding Mentat's profile as he claimed to be an eight year old third grader who could play piano at a fifth grade level, but also stated he was born in 1988. This led to a paradox, but it was later solved when it was revealed that Mentat had been abducted by aliens who altered his perception of time. He is actually a 14-year-old high school junior. There was also a coincidence of another member with the same birthday.
eNtRopY
[SOLVED] the Mentat Paradox

I must say, I was somewhat confused when I recently read Mentat's profile. In previous threads, he has claimed to be an eight year old third grader who plays piano at the fifth grade level. Which I admit, would be quite an impressive accomplishment. Yet, according to his profile, he was born on April 29th, 1988. Now I'm not a child prodigy, nor was I ever, but according to my calculations that would make him fifteen next month. Yes, this is confusing; however, I think I have finally solved the paradox.

Mentat was abducted by aliens. They flew him around the universe at speeds nearing that of light in a vacuum. When he was returned, his time had contracted relative to that of the Earth's frame of reference.

eNtRopY

Physics news on Phys.org
Originally posted by eNtRopY
I must say, I was somewhat confused when I recently read Mentat's profile. In previous threads, he has claimed to be an eight year old third grader who plays piano at the fifth grade level. Which I admit, would be quite an impressive accomplishment. Yet, according to his profile, he was born on April 29th, 1988. Now I'm not a child prodigy, nor was I ever, but according to my calculations that would make him fifteen next month. Yes, this is confusing; however, I think I have finally solved the paradox.