Problem solving calculating area

In summary, the conversation is about a teacher who is helping students with math but is rusty due to being away from math for over 35 years. The students are given a problem involving a square made with a given amount of fencing and the teacher is struggling to remember how to solve it. They also discuss the grade level at which this type of question is usually taught and the conversion between square feet and square yards. The teacher also mentions that they are currently in Jakarta, Indonesia, using the National Indonesian Curriculum.
einie101
I help students a bit with their math. As a teacher I am over 35 years removed from Math so I am rusty. I had the following questions given to me by some students and I couldn't even remember.View attachment 9317View attachment 9318View attachment 9316

The students are required to show their work how to solve this problem.

Attachments

• Math 1C.jpg
    Math 1C.jpg
    22.2 KB · Views: 75
  • Math 1A.jpg
    Math 1A.jpg
    29.6 KB · Views: 71
  • Math 1B.jpg
    Math 1B.jpg
    22.5 KB · Views: 76
Mathematics news on Phys.org
$2W + L = 200$

$2W = 200 - L$

condition (1) ... $W \ge 30 \implies 2W \ge 60 \implies 200-L \ge 60 \implies L \le 140$

condition (2) ... $L \ge 2W \implies L \ge 200-L \implies L \ge 100$If a square is made, each side of the fence would have what dimension in feet given the 200 ft of available fencing?

Square that dimension. Recall $9 \text{ ft}^2 = 1 \text{ yd}^2$

In which grade level does one normally find this kind of equality question? I simply can't remember actually ever studying this kind of question type. Is there a name for this type of question i.e. equalities? I am still at a loss on how to calculate the 2nd question.
Thank you again.

Last edited:
einie101 said: