Transformers in Physics: Boosting Voltage Without Current?

In summary, the conversation discusses the use of transformers in the electric grid to boost voltage for long distance travel. The formula P=EI is used to show that the same amount of power can be delivered with different values of current and voltage. However, this goes against the equation E=IR which shows the relationship between voltage, current, and resistance. The conversation also delves into the advantage of using high voltage in reducing line losses in transmission lines. It is explained that the same power can be delivered without wasting energy by increasing voltage and decreasing current. The idea is compared to the heating element of an electric stove, where the degree of heat is related to the amount of current passing through it.
Rockazella
Im a high school student/newbie at this stuff. In physics class we just started going over the electric grid. My teach first talked about how transformers are used to get high voltages for long distance travel. If I understood him, he said transformers boost the voltage while droping the current. He used the formula P=EI to show this. What I don't understand is doesn't that go against E=IR? How can you boost the voltage without also boosting the current? Isn't current just a result of a voltage (higher voltage always means higher current)?

Physics news on Phys.org
We're talking about source voltage here. E=IR (I=R/E) is the RESULT of that voltage when applied to a load of a given R. Cause vs effect. The two equations are describing two separate things. You can even combine them to show other relationships.

Bottom line is there are two ways to get a certain number of watts from a power line (which is the goal - delivering power). Either you can deliver a low voltage and high amperage or a high amperage and low voltage.