Dealing with a Computer Worm: What To Do and What Protectors to Use

• Thread starter plus
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Computer
In summary: Apologies for the lack of information, I am new to this. This download was mentioned in one of the other responses, but I couldn't remember where. It is probably something to do with security or virus protection.In summary, this worm shuts down your computer when you try to connect to the internet. It is very clever, and viruses that try to protect against it will not work. You need to get the patch or whatever through another computer.
plus
Just had this worm:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/technology/3147147.stm

It was quite annoying and turned the computer off after about 2minutes browsing the web, although used this thing to get rid of it.

http://vil.nai.com/vil/stinger/ [Broken]

What virus protectors do you reccomend, and would they have protected against this worm?

Last edited by a moderator:
Computer science news on Phys.org
if this is the same worm I'm thinking of, it shuts you down when you connect to the internet... therefor, for any anti-virus to work, it would have to download the virus definition to stop it, but you can't connect.

so you'd have to get the patch or whatever through another computer.

very clever virus/worm.

Originally posted by jb
if this is the same worm I'm thinking of, it shuts you down when you connect to the internet... therefor, for any anti-virus to work, it would have to download the virus definition to stop it, but you can't connect.

so you'd have to get the patch or whatever through another computer.

very clever virus/worm.

It took on average about 2 minutes to shut the computer down, so I had to look on websites, and follow leads, and then write down the web page addresses. Thankfully, when downloading 'stinger', the computer didnt start shutting down - must be something programmed.

Originally posted by plus