Exploring LQG: A Student's Questions and Intuitions

• Thread starter michaelcarey26
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Lqg
In summary, John Archibald Wheeler's book "Geons, Blackholes & Quantum Foam" is a great read for anyone interested in the subject of gravity and the universe. Wheeler discusses the theory of geons, blackholes, and quantum foam, and provides an interesting introduction to the concept of a gravitational geon. He also discusses the implications of the Monte Carlo effect and how perception might have expressed itself once it was caught in such constructive attempts around the issue of gravity.
michaelcarey26
I am a student just beginning a study of LQG and I would appreciate some comment on a few questions and intuitions that I have as I enter the subject.

My background is more in mathematics than in physics, and my perspective on space has been guided more by topology than by the concerns of HEP, and perhaps this bias affects how I view the discussions here concerning string theory and LQG. But here goes...

My first issue deals with time. My tendency is to view the universe as a single space, which appears 4-dimensional, and I think of time primarily as an aspect of our perspective on the manifold. That is, I feel very uncomfortable accepting probability as an intrinsic aspect of the space and prefer to think of it in terms of information. GR seems compatible with this perspective. Does LQG invariably treat space as a 3-dimensional set of nodes whose connections vary with time in lock step? Is the choice of a 3-D slice an arbitrary convention or do we have to bring back the idea that the universe actually has well defined instants?

I come to this discussion with the idea that quantizing space by discrete nodes is one thing, and saying that different possible states all exist at the 'same time' is another. Am I wrong to separate the issues?