Exploring Relativity: A Beginner's Journey with the Peripatetic Albert Einstein

• Thread starter OneEye
  • Start date
In summary, the conversation is about someone who is an amateur and is reading Einstein's Relativity for the first time. They have questions and are seeking help to understand the concepts better. The person they are talking with suggests finding a better book to learn from, but the individual is content with Einstein's explanation and is open to recommendations for other helpful resources.
OneEye
I am an amateur, reading Einstein's Relativity for the first time.

Naturally, I have questions.

I am not aiming to disprove relativity, nor to flaunt my erudition.

I am just trying to fill out the model so that I can freely "walk around in it".

I would like to correspond with anyone who has read Relativity or who can provide me with able assistance on the concepts exposed by Dr. Einstein.

Any help?

- After all, are we not all mere reference molluscs?

Physics news on Phys.org
Step 1: Find a better book to learn relativity from than Einstein's Relativity.

Step 2: Read that book instead.

- Warren

Dear Warren,

Thank you for your advice. At this point, I am fairly happy with Dr. Einstein's "clear explanation that anyone can understand." As you point out, there are probably better exegeses out there, but I feel that Dr. Einstein has done a good enough job, especially as far as SR, for me to begin to understand the model.

In addition, Dr. Einstein's book is the one I have on hand. Undoubtedly, other reference works are valuable and will be helpful. I have found, for instance, J.C.A. Wevers' Physics Formulary quite handy.

But perhaps you can recommend a better book for this investigation. Your recommendation would be welcome.

Last edited by a moderator:

1. What is the book "Exploring Relativity" about?