Navigating Physics Education at UIUC and Rutgers

In summary: Anyway, the point is that each school has its strengths, and it really depends on what you are looking for in a graduate school. Just make sure you research each school thoroughly before making a decision. Oh, and FYI - both UIUC and Rutgers offer a free online course in condensed matter physics that you can take to get a good idea of what each school has to offer.
anish
Hello, I'm a freshman from New Jersey studying at The University of Illinois at Urbana, Champaign. I am studying electrical engineering now, but I am considering studying physics and math.

I enjoy electrical engineering classes, but I am more interested in a research field and physics has always interested me. I think if I majored in physics I would do graduate school shortly after. I am also considering grad school for physics after completing undergraduate study in EE. If I did change major I would consider transfering to Rutgers University because I would receive in-state tuition and be able to more easily afford graduate school.

Is UIUC vs. Rutgers for physics a large difference in education?

Am I better off majoring in physics or EE in my undergraduate if I then go to grad school for physics?

Any general info about physics undergraduate, or physics as a proffession, etc is appreciated.

Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
anish said:
Hello, I'm a freshman from New Jersey studying at The University of Illinois at Urbana, Champaign.

Sorry, I'm not trying to hijack your thread...but I've been looking at that college for a while now. Does it have anyhting for physics? I'm also interested in engineering.

Actually, if you get accepted to grad school in Physics you should also get an assistantship which will mean your tuition should be covered as well as a small income. So do not pick your grad school based on location. Pick it based on what you wish to do and the presence of profs you want to work with.