Ultra Deep Field raises questions

• Thread starter turbo
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Field
In summary, the conversation discusses the visually stunning Hubble's UDF image and raises questions about its implications for the universe's homogeneity and the formation of galaxies. The person asking the questions is an amateur astronomer with limited math skills, seeking help to understand these concepts. They also share a helpful resource for understanding cosmology and express their desire to have better math skills to fully comprehend these concepts.
turbo
Gold Member
Hubble's UDF image is visually stunning. It also raises questions for me that I hope can be answered here in terms that I can grasp. I am an amateur astronomer (dabbling in astrophotography) with limited math skills. I marvel at the enormity of our universe every time I step out under dark skies, but the UDF has taken that awe to a whole new level, because it brings up some incongruities (to me anyway) that are impossible for me to resolve without some help.

Official descriptions of the image state that it contains galaxies at z=6 and perhaps even to z=12, which if true means that Hubble has directly observed galaxies that formed only a couple of hundred million years after the Big Bang. There is also the implication that with sufficient telescope time (millions of years!) Hubble could demonstrate to us that the universe is remarkably homogeneous in all directions. In other words, no matter which direction we look, we would see multitudes of galaxies, including highly redshifted faint ones that by inference are very old (a few hundred million years after the Big Bang).