Prioritizing Time vs. Grades: The Impact on Academic and Career Success

In summary, the conversation discusses the dilemma of a sophomore physics student in Spain who wants to emigrate for graduate school and career opportunities. They are concerned about their grades and the possibility of losing their grant if they fail exams. They are debating whether to finish their degree quickly or take an extra year to improve their grades. The conversation also mentions the importance of grades for academic jobs and the potential regret of not prioritizing grades over speed.
Lavabug
Which is more important in the long run? In particular, for academic jobs? I'm a sophomore physics student in Spain (set on emigrating upon graduation for gradschool/whatever is necessary for the career path I want, as prospects look grim in and out of academia in my country).

I've gone through 2 career changes and lost 1 whole academic year so I'm now at a 4-year age disadvantage compared to my classmates.

About a month from finals (and 1st semester recup exams, which I have to take, as I did horribly, my background was weak and I needed tons of ground work), I'm struck with a dilemma. My uni allows 3 examination attempts per academic year. I think I can get a fairly good grades on a small handful of courses as I've had more preparation time but others I'm not so sure, so I have the option of postponing some exams til' July or November, or giving it them the best whack I can at the moment and settling for whatever low grade I may get in some courses.

What worries me is the possibility of not passing the exam later down the line and having to repeat the course (and likely losing my grant), so I really need to pass my courses, but at the same time I don't want a crap grades either because I fear its going to really harm me in the long run. I'm a in a tight spot and really don't know what I should do.