Priniciple of Minimum Energy vs. Maxwell equations

In summary, the conversation discusses a paper on coupled magneto-mechanical problems, specifically in regards to a deformable ferromagnetic bar in a uniform magnetic field. The paper uses energy minimization to find the magnetic field and deformation, but the speaker is trying to solve the problem using Maxwell's equation. They have derived an equation for the magneto-static case and refer to it as Ampere's law for stressed bodies, but their professor disagrees with its validity. The speaker asks if anyone else has seen a similar equation.
Hassan2
Dear all,

I'm studying a paper on coupled magneto-mechanical problems.

Suppose we have a "deformable" ferromagnetic bar placed in an initially uniform magnetic field. Both ends of the bar are clamped. The bar has magnetostriction property, so it may expand or contract depending on the the magnitude of the flux density.

In the paper, in order to find the magnetic field numerically, it takes the approach of energy minimization and here the energy is the sum of magnetic and mechanical energies. Both magnetic field and deformation is obtained this way.

I'm trying to solve the problem using Maxwell equation ( ∇×(B/μ)=0) rather than energy minimization, but it seems the Maxwell equation does not take into account the change in mechanical energy due to the induced magnetization even though the permeability may depend on the mechanical stress.

I wonder if the Maxwell equation incomplete when it comes to deformable media? This would be disappointing to me.

I would really appreciate if you helped me overcome the problem.

Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
I have derived the following equation for magneto static case and I call it Amper's law for stressed bodies:

[itex]\nabla \times H = J_{f}-\sigma_{ij}\frac{\partial \epsilon_{ij}}{\partial A}[/itex]