Preparing for Logic Final: Union of T_n Satisfiable & Not Finitely Axiomatizable

In summary, the conversation is about a logic final and a practice problem involving a strictly increasing sequence of satisfiable L-Theories. The first part of the problem requires showing that the union of all T_n is satisfiable, while the second part involves showing that the union of T_n is not finitely axiomatizable. The speaker is unsure how to approach the second part of the problem and has requested for the conversation to be moved to the logic section for help.
moo5003
I'm studying for my logic final and I can't seem to find an answer for this practice problem:

(Using < as proper subset since I don't have the right type)

T_1 < T_2 < T_3... be a strictly increasing sequence of satisfiable L-Theories.

a) Show that the union of T_n is satisfiable (over all n in the natural numbers).

b) Show that the union of T_n is not finitely axiomatizable.

A) Pretty simple, every finite subset is satisfiable since the largets T_n is satisfiable thus by compactness their entire union is satisfiable.

B) This is were I have some problems. I'm not sure how to go about showing this. I want to show that any finite amount of sentances can only axiomatize up to T_n and then we can simply show that T_n+1 is not axiomatized. Any ideas on this?

EDIT: I posted this in the wrong forum apparently, if anyone could move it to the logic section I would appreciate it.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
The midterm is over though I would still like to know how to solve this problem.

Hi there,

Preparing for a logic final can be challenging, but let's break down the practice problem to help you find an answer.