Pre-requisites for path integral formulation?

In summary, to learn the Feynman path integral formulation of QM, you should be familiar with the Schroedinger-Heisenberg formulation, Lagrangian and Hamiltonian mechanics, PDEs, and gaussian integrals.
hawkingfan
Pre-requisites for path integral formulation?

Does anybody have any idea of the pre-requisites to learn Feynmann's path integral formulation? (properly) Right about now, I'm still learning about Lagrangian and Hamiltonian mechanics which focuses on the principle of least action. Right now, the only knowledge that I have about quantum mechanics are the basic qualitative principles and the simple quantitative description of them. (which uses calculations that do not exceed multivariable calculus) As for my math proficiency, I'm just starting on real analysis, functions of a complex variable and I am halfway through ordinary differential equations. Are there any more pre-requisites that do not include what I do not already know or what I'm currently studying? I'd appreciate your feedback. Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org

First you should learn the Schroedinger-Heisenberg formulation of QM, and to understand what the path-integral is used to calculate you need to know what a green's function / propagator / kernel is, which is a general concept in physics and partial differential equations.

Real Analysis is good, and so is Lagrangian/Hamiltonian mechanics. I would say to concentrate on learning PDE and Shroedinger-Heiseberg QM in dirac notation.

Thanks. I appreciate it.

After you've familiarized yourself with QM via Shrodinger and Heisenberg, to include Dirac notation, read Chap I.2 (only 6 pp) in Quantum Field Theory in a Nutshell by A. Zee, Princeton UP, 2003, ISBN 0-691-01019-6. You may also want to read the first 6-7 pp of Chap 8 in Principles of Quantum Mechanics (either edition) by R. Shankar, Plenum, 1994 (2nd ed), ISBN 0-306-44790-8.