Power Transmission via AC current

In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of AC systems generating power. AC voltage sources oscillate between positive and negative voltages, creating an electric field that moves charges along the conductor. This movement of charges generates power, regardless of the direction of the current. The conversation also touches on the difference between DC and AC, with the latter being described as a longitudinal wave. The direction of current does not affect the power delivered, as long as the electrons are moving. An example is given of how AC can power a light bulb by jiggling the electrons back and forth.
timthereaper
I'm a mechanical engineer and I'm really interested in electrical systems. I understand a fair amount about the basics of E/M and circuits. But no matter how much I read, I can't wrap my head around how AC systems generate power. I do know they work (obviously, right?), but I'm trying to imagine what is actually happening at the electron level. This is my mode of thinking and please let me know where I'm wrong:

An AC voltage source oscillates between a positive and negative voltage (I'm picturing a sine wave). The voltage difference across the circuit creates an electric field that moves charges along the conductor. The positive part of the wave moves charges one way, but the negative part moves the charges back to (roughly) their original positions. Energy is needed to do the work on the charges, but how does this transmit power to the load?

Physics news on Phys.org
The way I understand it is that AC is waves, DC is current. It is a colloquialism to call AC a current. If you consider a river flowing into the ocean the direct current of the river will be quickly dissipated by friction shortly after it reaches the ocean. But waves can travel a long way on the ocean without losing their energy.