Power generated from magnet and coil

In summary, the conversation discusses the use of a power generator based on magnets and coils for an engineering project. The design parameters include using gauge 45 AWG copper wires with 200 coils and a N40 Neodymium cylindrical magnet with a rated residual flux density of 1.25T. The goal is to calculate the power generated from this setup, potentially for use in an energy harvesting floor. References to "dynamo" and Faraday's law are suggested for further research.
xonsniper4
Hey guys,
I'm an engineering student and for my project i am planning to use a power generator based on magnet and coil like those hand power shake flashlights.

I am using gauge 45 AWG copper wires (0.051816mm) and coiled to have 200 coils. The coil size will be 2.5cm. The magnet i am using will be N40 Neodymium cylindrical magnet sized 0.5'' x0.5'' with rated residual flux density of 1.25T.

I am hoping you guys can give me some advice in calculating the power generated from this setup.

Things i tried: I used Faraday's law to find voltage. After that, i used resistivity of copper and found the resistance of the wire then used P=V^2/R to try finding power but it seem to be too high to be real.

Thanks

PS: this is not a homework problem. Its a design project and we decide to use this system. We are mechanical engineering students that's why we couldn't find any professors to help us.

Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF;
So you have a permanent magnet that can slide through a coil - the idea being that you shake it or tip it.
Please note: a "design project" is homework. You have to do the designing yourself.

The sort of calculations you need to do will depend on the parameters of the design. What is it you need to design exactly? i.e. do you need to design the device to produce a specific output for a specific input - to specific tolerances?