Potential Energy and Conservation of Energy Problems

In summary: Your use of the same equation transfers all energy, thus the incorrect solution.In summary, the conversation is about a student seeking help with potential energy and conservation of energy problems in AP Physics C: Mechanics. The problems involve a block sliding on a frictionless surface, compressing a spring, and jumping onto a fire net. The correct solutions for the problems were 8 ft, v sqrt(m/2k), and 7200 ft-lb, respectively. The equations used were Emech = K + U, U = 1/2k(x)^2, U = mgh, and K = 1/2m(v)^2. It is important to set up the energy equations correctly and consider the transfer of energy between
Matthew.C21
Hi everybody! So this is my first time using this forum. I'm currently taking AP Physics C: Mechanics in high school and I have some questions concerning Potential Energy and Conservation of Energy. Thanks for taking the time to help me!

Homework Statement

32. A 4.0-lb block slides along a horizontal frictionless surface at 8 ft/s. It is brought to rest by compressing a very long spring of spring constant (1/8) lb/ft. The maximum spring compressing is:
A. 4 ft
B. 8 ft (Correct Answer)
C. 16 ft
D. 2 ft
E. 45 ft

33. A block of mass m is initially moving to the right on a horizontal frictionless surface at a speed v. It then compresses a spring of spring constant k. At the instant when the kinetic energy of the block is equal to the potential energy of the spring, the spring is compressed a distance of:
A. v sqrt(m/2k) (Correct Answer)
B. (1/2)mv^2
C. (1/4)mv^2
D. mv^2/4k
E. (1/4)sqrt(mv/k)

34. A 200-lb man jumps out of a window into a fire net 30 ft below. The net stretches 6 ft before bringing the man to rest and tossing him back into the air. The maximum potential energy in (ft*lb) of the net is:
A. 7200 (Correct Answer)
B. 6000
C. 1800
D. 1200
E. 600

Homework Equations

Emech = K + U
U = 1/2k(x)^2
U = mgh
K = 1/2m(v)^2

The Attempt at a Solution