Potential due to Uniform Charge Distribution (3d)

In summary: The integral only depends on the limits of the box. In summary, the integral to solve for V(\vec{r}) is given as ## V(\vec{r})= \int \frac{k \rho}{\sqrt{(x-x')^2+(y-y')^2+(z-z')^2}} \, d^3 r' ## and the correct answer is (e). The square root expression is not a constant and can only be integrated over the limits of the box.
lorx99

Homework Statement

upload_2018-10-6_20-34-8.png

Homework Equations

dV= integral(kdQ/dR)

The Attempt at a Solution

So, I'm familiar with these type of problems but in 2D (like a line of uniform charge).
When the y,z component is added, I'm kinda lost.

i know dQ = p*dV= p*dx*dy*dz. (atleast i think it is).
also the dR = sqrt(x^2 + (y'-y)^2+z^2) since y is the only distance changing.
Now, i get confused as to how to put together the integral. Can someone guide me and help me out?

I am studying for an exam tomorrow :C.

Attachments

• upload_2018-10-6_20-34-8.png
    upload_2018-10-6_20-34-8.png
    31.6 KB · Views: 656
Physics news on Phys.org
## V(\vec{r})=\int \frac{k \rho(\vec{r}')}{|\vec{r}-\vec{r}'|}\, d^3 r' ##. Which, if any, of the expressions fit this description? ## \\ ## A hint is they have reversed primes and unprimes, but that is perfectly ok to do. (Take the expression I just gave you and reverse the primes and unprimes). ## \\ ## Also, ## |\vec{r}-\vec{r}'| =\sqrt{(x-x')^2+(y-y')^2+(z-z')^2}##. ## \\ ## Also ## \rho(\vec{r}')=\rho ##. ## \\ ## This one is pretty obvious, but I don't know that I have a simple way to teach you about the limits on triple integrals inside of 10 minutes. Which one do you think might be correct?

Last edited:
Charles Link said: