Postgrad in USA: Masters, Finances & Maths

• Thread starter Focus
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Usa
In summary: The other thing to consider is that the US grading system is a lot harsher than the UK one, so your grades will likely be a lot higher. Hence, it might be a good idea to aim to get a first or second class honours degree in the UK, in order to minimise the impact of grades on your chances of getting a good postgraduate position.I hope this was of some use to you. Thanks for asking!
Focus
Hey,

I was wondering about postgrad in the USA. I'm an undergrad in UK but I will finish with a masters and I heard that the US postgrad programmes make you do a masters as well. Is there anyway to avoid this? Also is there any financial support for doing post grads there? I should end up graduating with a first so grades won't be so much of a problems hopefully.

Thanks in advance.

PS. My field is maths.

Physics news on Phys.org
I don't know abut the financial support, but you'll almost definitely need to take GRE's (Graduate Record Examinations).
There's a general paper comprised of two essay writing questions, a verbal comprehension section and a numerical section. There is generally also a subject paper, however I'm not sure if there's one for maths, or if it has it's own test.

I hope you find this information useful.

Dave

I was wondering about postgrad in the USA. I'm an undergrad in UK but I will finish with a masters and I heard that the US postgrad programmes make you do a masters as well. Is there anyway to avoid this? Also is there any financial support for doing post grads there? I should end up graduating with a first so grades won't be so much of a problems hopefully.