Plotting y=x Function in Matlab: Tips for Beginners

In summary, to plot y=x in Matlab, use the "plot" function and specify the values of x and y. You can also change the color, style, and axis limits of the plot, and add labels and a title using various functions. Additionally, you can save your plot as an image file using the "saveas" function.
djdato
I am new to Matlab and i need to plot a function. However, using y=x as an example it always comes up saying that x is not defined. How do i plot the function without specifying a specific value for x? Graphing y=x is not my real problem. I am used to using TI-83/4 graphics calculators and typing a function like y=x^2 and just graphing it. But i can't do it on MATLAB as it always needs me to define x.

Regards,
djdato

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
My advice is: RTM

Hi djdato,

Thank you for reaching out for help with plotting the y=x function in Matlab. I can understand how it can be confusing for beginners to plot a function without specifying a value for x.

In Matlab, all variables need to be defined before they can be used in a function or calculation. This is different from TI-83/4 graphics calculators where you can directly type in a function without defining the variable first.

To plot the y=x function in Matlab, you can define a range of values for x using the "linspace" function and then use that range to plot the function. For example, you can use the following code:

x = linspace(-10,10); % defines a range of values for x from -10 to 10
y = x; % defines y as the same values as x
plot(x,y); % plots the function y=x

You can also use the "ezplot" function in Matlab to plot simple functions without having to define a range of values for the variable. For the y=x function, you can use the following code:

ezplot('x'); % plots the function y=x