Plotting Simple Pendulum in MATLAB: Tutorials & Tips

In summary, the person is asking for guidance on how to plot a simple pendulum in MATLAB. They have found the equation of motion and have declared the necessary variables. They are asking for help on how to incorporate the function "ode45" to solve the problem. They also mention a MATLAB support article that may be helpful.
tigertan
I'm really confused at the moment and would quite appreciate some guidance.

I've got little to no background in Matlab and am needing to plot a simple pendulum.

I have found the equation of motion which is q(doubledot) = -(g/l)sin(beta)

I don't know how to go about this?

After declaring the variables:

runtime = 50; %duration of simulation in seconds
g = 9.8;
startingangle = 20; %starting angle in degrees
initialvelocity = 0;
length = 1;

How do I go about this?
Does anyone have any good tutorials to help me out?

I know I need to incorporate some function called ode45..

Physics news on Phys.org
ode45 is the runge-kutta ordinary differential equation solver basically you need to provide a step function that it can then call repeatedly to integrate it and generate a solution.

Here's some info from MATLAB support that may help:

http://www.mathworks.com/help/matlab/ref/ode113.html?BB=1

Related to Plotting Simple Pendulum in MATLAB: Tutorials & Tips

1. How do I plot a simple pendulum in MATLAB?

To plot a simple pendulum in MATLAB, you can use the plot function. First, define the variables for the pendulum's length, mass, and initial angle. Then, use the equations of motion to calculate the pendulum's position over time. Finally, use the plot function to plot the pendulum's position over time.

2. How can I customize the plot of a simple pendulum in MATLAB?