Please give me some advice about my minor

• Thread starter twofu
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Minor
In summary: You're right, it's not exactly what I want to hear. However, it's a reality that most careers in programming require some level of prior experience with that language or technology.
twofu
Please give me some advice about my minor :)

Hello PF,

I am an undergrad in Physics (second year), I love it so far. I don't know if I am going to graduate school or not. Right now, I want to pick up a Computer Science minor so I can learn languages like Java/C++/Python...the list goes on. I don't want to change my major to CS so that's not an option for me but I DO want to be marketable after I get my bachelors. Will a CS minor help?

Could I put on an application for a software/IT position that I have a CS minor and have experience with the following languages, etc. ?

Thank for reading! Any advice would be appreciated :)

Physics news on Phys.org

It probably won't help simply because saying you know language X, Y, and Z is far more applicable than what's written on your transcript as a minor.

Pengwuino said:
It probably won't help simply because saying you know language X, Y, and Z is far more applicable than what's written on your transcript as a minor.

I understand. I may have phrased it weirdly... So knowing those languages well is the important/marketable part. I suppose picking that minor enhances the learning experience of those languages.

twofu said:
I understand. I may have phrased it weirdly... So knowing those languages well is the important/marketable part. I suppose picking that minor enhances the learning experience of those languages.

Possibly. Or you could have a god awful CS department like our university that can't teach worth a damn.

Pengwuino said:
Possibly. Or you could have a god awful CS department like our university that can't teach worth a damn.