Playing with math keeps me sharp

• Thread starter 1MileCrash
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Sharp
In summary, the conversation discusses the enjoyment and benefits of "playing" with math, finding patterns and making conjectures. The participants share their own experiences and discoveries in manipulating numbers and equations, including the relationship between odd numbers and squares, and the usefulness of this practice in understanding mathematical concepts. The conversation also mentions resources for number theory puzzles and encourages the OP to continue exploring and discovering in math.
1MileCrash
"Playing" with math keeps me sharp!

I'm pretty new to math, just taking Calc II and a proof class.

But every once in a while, while doing homework, I get obsessed with looking for patterns in math and expressing them. They are usually pointless, and come out to be kind of "duh" in the end, but man, I feel like I can do anything after doing that. It's fun to do.

Maybe one day, I'll come up with something useful. Here is a walkthrough of what I did tonight.

During Physics homework, I got "reminded" of the idea that a square has the most area per perimeter of any rectangle. Ergo, decreasing one side and increasing the other will give a smaller area. So I looked for a pattern there.

10 x 10 = 100
9 x 11 = 99
8 x 12 = 96
7 x 13 = 91
6 x 14 = 84
5 x 15 = 75

The numbers decrease from the next in the pattern of odd numbers, 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, (100 - 99 = 1; 99 - 96 = 3; 96 - 91 = 5)

So I looked for a pattern there, by adding up those numbers. For example, 5 x 15 is (1 + 3 + 5 + 7 + 9 = 25) away from 100. After writing all of those:

10 x 10 = 100; 0
9 x 11 = 99; 1
8 x 12 = 96; 4
7 x 13 = 91; 9
6 x 14 = 84; 16
5 x 15 = 75; 25

I quickly realized that those numbers (1, 4, 9, 16) are the difference that either of the terms are from 10, squared. So 8 x 12 is 4 away from 100, and 12 and 8 are 2 away from 10, then square that and you get 4.