Optimizing Average Cost: Understanding Marginal Analysis in Economics

In summary, the conversation is about a problem in a calculus textbook regarding marginal analysis. Part A asks to show that a given function is concave down if a positive constant is greater than 1. Part B asks to find the value of q that minimizes average cost under certain conditions. The individual has no questions about Part A, but has trouble understanding how to arrive at the book's answer for Part B. They attempt to work backwards from the answer but are unable to isolate q. They also question the use of intervals in finding average cost and whether the book's solution is correct.
Zorodius
This is a problem from a section on marginal analysis in a calculus textbook I have been studying. I can't ask the instructor, since I don't have one, I'm just studying this for my benefit.

The problem is as follows:

A firm's costs are given by:

[tex]C(q) = Kq^{1/a} + F[/tex]

Where a is a positive constant, F is the fixed cost, and K is the technology available to the firm.

Part A: Show that C is concave down if a > 1.

Part B: Assuming that a < 1 and that average cost is minimized when average cost equals marginal cost, find what value of q minimizes the average cost.

I have no questions about part A (I take the second derivative of C with respect to q, and the result seems to make it obvious that the curve would open downward.) My questions are about part B. The book's answer is:

q = [Fa/(K(1-a))]^a

I don't understand how they arrived at that answer. Moreover, I don't understand how it would be physically possible to have F as a factor in the answer, since I was under the impression that average cost was something along the lines of C(q + 1) - C(q), which would cause the F's to cancel out, and that taking the derivative of C(q) would also cause the F's to disappear, since the derivative of a constant is zero.

I tried working backwards from their answer, and got to: