Plasma Physics Experimentation Platform

In summary, Forrest is looking for guidance on hardware that would be well-suited for conducting experiments on high-frequency magnetized plasmas. He wants hardware that will allow him to precisely control and measure voltage, current, frequency, and EMF, as well as potentially temperature and density. Rodger suggests doing research on various websites and books, including Lyman Spitzer's "Physics of Fully Ionized Gasses" and MIT's intro to plasma physics course. He also mentions the option of looking into amateur plasma physics, such as building a gas discharge setup, but warns about the expenses and difficulty involved with creating a vacuum system.
tree6014
Hello everyone,

I have a degree in Computer Science/Engineering and have more recently been studying Physics. I've been really interested in the possibility of creating plasma in such an ordered state that virtual positrons begin to affect electrons non-chaotically and accelerate the electrons. I am currently trying to get a good starting point for moving into experimentation. I specifically want to work with high-frequency magnetized plasmas. What I would appreciate guidance on is what hardware would be well-suited for the task. Hardware that will allow me to precisely control and measure voltage, current, frequency, and EMF (and perhaps temperature and density) through a range that will allow me to do a great amount of experimentation with this type of plasma while having decent surge protection in the event of non-linear plasma effects.

Thanks,
Forrest

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Hey Forrest,

Good evening (at least that is true here in Florida :) ). I too am looking at starting some basic research into plasma physics. Because of time constraints so far all I've done is research. There are a bunch of sites out there that can get you started. A LOT of it is just silly stuff, but there are really good sites also.