Plan for a prospective "warp theorist"

• Thread starter Thinker301
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Plan
In summary: Third stage, the scientific community says,"well, maybe there is something to it" Fourth stage, the scientific community says,"of course there is something to it, we've been doing it wrong this whole time
Thinker301
Hi everybody!

I have really like the concept of warp drive, and working on it is a strong candidate for a future career for me.

I was wondering if anyone knew what plan I should take to go towards the goal of working to create the first Faster than Light Spacecraft.

And no, I didn't see Star Trek once and say, "Gee that looks cool, let's make that". I have done some research and I've seen speculations of it. (Star Trek did spark my interest though)

What do you guys think I should study.

I am planning to study Physics and Math at the moment, but I am an incoming freshman to University, so nothing is set in stone.

Thanks everybody!

Physics news on Phys.org
Let's start with a simple question. Who is going to pay you to invent warp drive?

Well, there is the Advanced Propulsion Lab (I believe), at NASA. There might also be universities researching it as well.

Also with recent advances in the field, NASA says it's "plausible" and with the popularity of shows like Star Trek (and how they incite people's imaginations) it certainly seems reasonable to expect a lot more people interested to be in an idea like this.

Last edited:
Thinker301 said:
Well, there is the Advanced Propulsion Lab (I believe) at NASA. There might be also be universities researching it as well.

Also with recent advances in the field, NASA says it's "plausible" and with the popularity of shows like Star Trek (and how they incite people's imaginations) it certainly seems reasonable to expect a lot more people interested in an idea like this.

There is the theoretical Alcubierre drive:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alcubierre_drive