Places a complete newbie can learn coding?

In summary, the person is asking for recommendations on websites or books that they can use to learn more about coding. They have started using codecademy.com, but feel like they need more guidance in order to learn the "why's" of programming. After looking through some resources, they have decided to either pursue a Computer Engineer B.S. with a M.S. in computer science or a physics + computer engineer or science (still undecided) double major. They plan to stay 5 years in either case, if need be.
Theoneandonly99
Hello all. I've recently started on the path to coding/programming in preparation for my future (double) major, if all goes well.

However, as someone with virtually no coding/programming experience, I was wondering if some of you wiser people could give me any recommendations as to websites I can use. Books would also be appreciate, though I have little to no funding I can spare for those.

At the moment, I have begun using codecademy.com for my recent foray. I've learned the very, very bare bone basics of HTML and CSS (which isn't really a language, I'm told?), and recently began working on python. The problem is, however, that I don't feel like it is very helpful for LEARNING the why's, just the what's.

So...input?

Technology news on Phys.org
The python route is a very good and versatile one...keep going. Python opens the door to many fields via the great variety of modules. By the way, you did not mention which two fields you were planning on majoring.

What exactly you mean by "not the why's "..."just the what's " ? If for starters all you are going to be is a user, a programmer, and making your life easy with programming..."the what's " are enough...leave "the why's " to people who design languages and/or compiler and the likes...if I even have an idea of what you meant. Maybe you care expand on that.

@gsal